Home Page

Egg Production Hints

Offline TWP

• Opinionated and Willing to "Discuss" it.
Egg Production Hints
« on: November 18, 2016, 11:45:10 AM »
Simple steps to take to keep egg production, even (especially) during winter.

http://www.offthegridnews.com/how-to-2/6-guaranteed-ways-to-boost-egg-production-during-winter/

I have some personal experience with raising chickens (and rabbits).

I started with a set of older chickens (gifted to me).  They were still giving me enough eggs for my personal use, but given the price of feed, it was a break-even with the cost of store-bought eggs.  I think the eggs tasted better, but I was probably biased.

I hatched one clutch of eggs (12 eggs) the first year and those new hens doubled my egg production when they reached maturity.  I did cull one male chick and raised one new rooster, so I had ten hens from that clutch.  All ten survived to maturity.

The older hens went into the freezer, along with the the original rooster (saying he was "tough" is being kind).  The original hens were at least 5-6 years old when I got them.  I think the original owner was unwilling to harvest them, which was my gain.

I did not try feeding sprouted grains, which might have helped feed costs.  Hindsight is always 20-20...

My hens did have free run of the 4 acre garden during spring, summer and fall, but would not leave the pen during winter, even if I opened the fence.  We did not have lengthy snow cover, so I have no idea why they were unwilling to leave.  Temperatures (Washington state) were never extremely cold.  Nights required that I lock the coop due to coyotes and dogs in the local area.  Chickens are too dumb to stay inside at night...

I did have a light in the coop for about six hours after sundown, which may have helped egg production, but I have no records to compare production without a light.
friendly
funny
informative
agree
dislike
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions